General

NaNoWriMo: The method I use for writing my Novel is I really love my characters as people

road reads

8647 is the current word count  for my Novel on Nanowrimo

One of my writing buddies, Ela Iliesi asked me this question:

“What do you do to write? What works for you? I for example like reading things other wrote and brainstorm on that, capture the best ideas and integrate them.”

I had never really thought about it before she asked me, and it was interesting that she asked me this yesterday because yesterday’s focus for me was character development. I got in there and made sure my characters were understood and profiled well, and I realized I really loved them as people. Even the antagonists who are unsavory or weird or bogus are people I understand. I know “why they are like that”, and I have compassion for them.

I also use a lot of old material from my past to glean from. Song lyrics, poems, short stories, essays…

View original post 99 more words

Leave a Reply

